label menu (where to put)

Discuss thaw modding, post your own, share your ideas, ask questions.
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:25 pm

Allright
what i want to aks and what i already asked an other topic (laber menu)
where to put those codes(to make a menu)?

and something else if i make this here below do i have to make an menu button or is it in it?

Code: Select all

:i $make_new_roundbar_menu$:s{
       :i $menu_id$ = $YourId$
       :i $pos$ = %vec2(235.000000,141.000000)
       :i $pad_back_script$ = $create_pause_menu$
       :i $title$ = %s(19,"MYMENU")
:i :s}
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu1$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu2$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu3$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu4$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu5$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu6$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    DONE")$pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$$centered$$no_bg$
:i $roundbar_menu_finish$


and what i also wanted to know is what is a easy basic thing to do after you done the score changing "mod".

btw: i am new to modding and only 13 years old :$
quazz
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby quazz » Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:57 pm

Well you have the basic menu structure down I suppose. But you are going to need to focus and really think about what you're doing here. Pad_choose_script is the action that is performed when the player picks that menu item.

Code: Select all

:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(8,"CONTINUE")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $exit_pause_menu$
:i :s}


That is the menu item option for "Continue" on the pause menu. It uses the script "exit_pause_menu" to go back to the game. So you'll need to make other qbscript sectionscript functions to make buttons that do things. Try replacing:

Code: Select all

:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu1$$centered$$no_bg$

With:

Code: Select all

:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(17,"Create Helicopter")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_heli$
:i :s}
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:29 am

oke i get the point that

Code: Select all

$pad_choose_script$ = $menu1$$centered$$no_bg$

is the action (path) the buttons do.

but what i wanted to know is where do i put those codes in a qbsectionscript or something like that?
Anteara
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:55 am
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby Anteara » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:27 am

mathonftw2 wrote:oke i get the point that

Code: Select all

$pad_choose_script$ = $menu1$$centered$$no_bg$

is the action (path) the buttons do.

but what i wanted to know is where do i put those codes in a qbsectionscript or something like that?


Yes, Compile it, change the extention to qbscript, make a new sectionscript, and import it to that.

For example, I have a SectionScript called $create_anteara_menu$ - and my button that says "Anteara Menu" calls $pad_choose_script$ = $create_anteara_menu$,

This means that when I press "Anteara Menu", it will call "$create_anteara_menu$", and then show me my menu that i've imported to that sectionscript.
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:39 am

ok i know i am nub but how do i compile a file ??
(do you do that with qbexplorer)??
Anteara
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:55 am
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby Anteara » Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:02 am

mathonftw2 wrote:ok i know i am nub but how do i compile a file ??
(do you do that with qbexplorer)??


Just use roq.exe and the launcher... you find it on this site. im not sure its name, it might be qbexplorer, but you need roq.exe
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:31 pm

allright i've got roq.exe and now?
do i put in a .txt or something like that???
edit:i've got it thnx for your help
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:19 pm

allright first i wanna say: thank you very much! :)
now i have just 1 question: i wanna make a pause menu button is this right??

Code: Select all

:i$add_pause_menu_item$:s{
:i $text$ = %s(8,"    MYMENU")$pad_choose_script$ = $create_MYMENU$


if this is my menu (so far)

:

Code: Select all

:i $make_new_roundbar_menu$:s{
       :i $menu_id$ = $MYMENU$
       :i $pos$ = %vec2(235.000000,141.000000)
       :i $pad_back_script$ = $create_pause_menu$
       :i $title$ = %s(19,"MYMENU")
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(17,"Create Helicopter")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_heli$
:i :s}

:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu2$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu3$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu4$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu5$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    TEST")$pad_choose_script$ = $menu6$$centered$$no_bg$
:i call $add_label_menu_item$ arguments
       $text$ = %s(8,"    DONE")$pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$$centered$$no_bg$
:i $roundbar_menu_finish$


aigain thanks for all your help for so far :) :) :) .
quazz
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby quazz » Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:35 pm

That's mostly right but its still not going to be working. Try working with this as a test, this starts you off with the basic pause menu functions

function / SectionScript "create_pause_menu"

Code: Select all

:i $hide_current_goal$
:i $make_label_menu$:s{
:i $title$ = %s(6,"PAUSED")
:i $title_pos$ = %vec2(160.000000,40.000000)$pos$ = %vec2(300.000000,120.000000)$title_rotation$ = %i(10,0000000a)
:i $spacing$ = %i(2,00000002)
:i $pad_back_script$ = call $generic_menu_pad_back$ arguments
$pad_back_params$ = :s{$callback$ = $exit_pause_menu$:s}
:i :s}
:i $pause_menu_gradient$
:i $white_poly_bg_effect$
:i $GoalManager_HideGoalPoints$
:i $GoalManager_HidePoints$
:i $unhide_root_window$
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(8,"CONTINUE")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $exit_pause_menu$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(9,"SAVE GAME")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $launch_pause_menu_save_game_sequence$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(12,"CHANGE LEVEL")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $launch_level_select_menu$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(10,"MATHON MOD")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_mathon_mod_menu$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(13,"YOUR PROGRESS")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_your_options_menu$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(12,"GAME OPTIONS")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_options_menu$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(4,"QUIT")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $launch_quit_game_dialog$
:i :s}
:i $label_menu_finish$
:i endfunction


Please don't make a roundbar menu yet, just work on some label menus first. To make your Mathon Mod menu use this as a template:


function / SectionScript "create_mathon_mod_menu"

Code: Select all

:i $hide_current_goal$
:i $make_label_menu$:s{
:i $title$ = %s(10,"Mathon Mod")
:i $title_pos$ = %vec2(160.000000,40.000000)$pos$ = %vec2(300.000000,120.000000)$title_rotation$ = %i(10,0000000a)
:i $spacing$ = %i(2,00000002)
:i $pad_back_script$ = call $generic_menu_pad_back$ arguments
$pad_back_params$ = :s{$callback$ = $create_pause_menu$:s}
:i :s}
:i $pause_menu_gradient$
:i $white_poly_bg_effect$
:i $GoalManager_HideGoalPoints$
:i $GoalManager_HidePoints$
:i $unhide_root_window$
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(17,"Create Helicopter")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_heli$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(4,"Done")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$
:i :s}
:i $label_menu_finish$


Use both functions to:
a) create a new pause menu that has a link to your mod menu.
b) create your mod menu with the "create_heli" function that's used in one of the story mode missions as a test.

When you add a menu item, use this simple format:
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
:i $text$ = %s(4,"Done") - THE TEXT THE BUTTON SAYS. THE NUMBER "4" REPRESENTS THE LENGTH, "D-O-N-E" is 4 letters long!!
:i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096) - THE ROTATION, NOT NECESSARY TO EDIT
:i $length$ = %i(140,00000096) - BAR LENGTH, NOT NECESSARY TO EDIT
:i $scale$ = %f(0.900000) - THE SIZE, NOT NECESSARY TO EDIT
:i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000) - NOT NECESSARY TO EDIT
:i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)- NOT NECESSARY TO EDIT
:i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$ - THE FUNCTION THIS BUTTON WILL PERFORM
:i :s}

make two scripts for them, compile them, remove the tables, import into queenbee, and you should be all set.

I'm being very generous in supplying both exemplary scripts so I'd appreciate it if you spent as much time as possible working this out. You will get better if you keep working at it so try not to give up.
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:10 am

thnx for your help and i'll do this
but where do i but the section script of the menu (create mathon menu on your post)

and oh i wanna call my "mod":FTWmenu (FTWMOD)so then i have to write:
(for the button):

Code: Select all

:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(6,"FTWMOD")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_FTWMOD_menu$


And for the menu:

Code: Select all

:i $hide_current_goal$
:i $make_label_menu$:s{
:i $title$ = %s(6,"FTWMOD")
:i $title_pos$ = %vec2(160.000000,40.000000)$pos$ = %vec2(300.000000,120.000000)$title_rotation$ = %i(10,0000000a)
:i $spacing$ = %i(2,00000002)
:i $pad_back_script$ = call $generic_menu_pad_back$ arguments
$pad_back_params$ = :s{$callback$ = $create_pause_menu$:s}
:i :s}
:i $pause_menu_gradient$
:i $white_poly_bg_effect$
:i $GoalManager_HideGoalPoints$
:i $GoalManager_HidePoints$
:i $unhide_root_window$
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(17,"Create Helicopter")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_heli$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(4,"Done")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$
:i :s}
:i $label_menu_finish$


thank you for helping me so far :)
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:18 pm

i cant get it working :cry:
i compile the menu button change the extansion to .qbscript
and import it in Create_pause_menu but the button isn't there
and i dont know where to put my menu
Plz anwser but thanks for helping me so far
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:21 pm

allright thnx
but i have to put the button in the Create_pause_menu sectionscript or somewhere else?
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:37 pm

allright so i just have to search (on qb) for Create_pause_menu and then import the menu? cause that didn't work
or do i have to search for pause then take PAUSED game menu and make a new section script?
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:02 pm

allright i cant compile FTW MENU:

Code: Select all

:i $hide_current_goal$
:i $make_label_menu$:s{
:i $title$ = %s(6,"FTW MOD")
:i $title_pos$ = %vec2(160.000000,40.000000)$pos$ = %vec2(300.000000,120.000000)$title_rotation$ = %i(10,0000000a)
:i $spacing$ = %i(2,00000002)
:i $pad_back_script$ = call $generic_menu_pad_back$ arguments
$pad_back_params$ = :s{$callback$ = $create_pause_menu$:s}
:i :s}
:i $pause_menu_gradient$
:i $white_poly_bg_effect$
:i $GoalManager_HideGoalPoints$
:i $GoalManager_HidePoints$
:i $unhide_root_window$
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(17,"Create Helicopter")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_heli$
:i :s}
:i $add_label_menu_item$:s{
   :i $text$ = %s(4,"Done")
   :i $rot$ = %i(1,00000096)
   :i $length$ = %i(140,00000096)
   :i $scale$ = %f(0.900000)
   :i $text_offset$ = %vec2(0.000000,0.000000)
   :i $label_offset$ = %vec2(-10.000000,0.000000)
   :i $pad_choose_script$ = $create_pause_menu$
:i :s}
:i $label_menu_finish$


it says cant open file
and i tried to do the button in create_pause_menu (qbkey) but when i open the pause menu it crashes
mathonftw2
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: label menu (where to put)

Postby mathonftw2 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:12 pm

what is an header?
and can't i just use the roundbar menu at the top of this topic(first page)

Return to “THAW modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests